Pre-Illmatic: The Unreleased Mixtape Before Nas Made It

From rocking the first Summer Jam stage in 1994, to headlining Summer Jam 2014 this Sunday, Nas has been immortalized as a hip-hop legend.

His catalogue is filled with classic music, cemented by his first album “Illmatic” which has been considered by some critics as the best debut album ever.

However, did you know that Nas put out a demo tape of songs before "Illmatic"? The tape, which has since been dubbed the “Pre-Illmatic Demo” features production from Large Professor and collaborations with future hip-hop legends AZ, Biz Markie, and Kool G. Rap.

You probably won’t catch Nas rocking any of these historic tracks at Summer Jam, but he will be making a different kind of history as the only artist from the first Summer Jam in 1994 still performing.

Stream the “Pre-Illmatic Demo” here and check the track list below:

  1. Understanding (feat. AZ & Biz Markie)
  2. Life Is Like A Dice Game
  3. Just Another Day In The Projects
  4. Déjà Vu prod by Chris Winston
  5. Back To The Grill (feat. MC Serch, Chubb Rock & Red Hot Lover Tone) [prod. T-Ray]
  6. Everything Is Real (feat. Shapelle)
  7. I’m A Villain [prod. Large Professor]
  8. Number One With A Bullet (feat. Kool G. Rap & Whiteboy)
  9. Nas Will Prevail (It Ain’t Hard To Tell Original) [prod. Large Professor]
  10. On The Real (Original) (feat. Akinyele, Screwball, & Cormega)
  11. Live At The BBQ (feat. Fatal & Akinyele)

Enjoy this piece of hip-hop history and make sure to catch Nas at Summer Jam this Sunday on the Stadium Stage!

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here.