EMPIRE Announces Africa Compilation Album ‘Where We Come From’

Loading the player…

To continue the explosion of African music throughout the globe, EMPIRE announces its first ever Africa compilation album Where We Come From (Vol. 1), set to be released on Nov. 18. The upcoming project will include Nigerian superstars Fireboy DML, Olamide, Bnxn fka Buju, Wande Coal, Kizz Daniel, L.A.X, Tanzanian duo Navy Kenzo, Ghanian rapper Black Sherif, and more.

To announce the album, Nigerian singer-songwriter Kizz Daniel dropped the leading single “Cough (Odo).”

According to a press release, Where We Come From (Vol. 1), which is set to highlight the rising talent from Africa, is a testament to the continent’s ability to foster unity through music. “The artists from Africa really transcend where music is today,” EMPIRE founder and CEO Ghazi Shami said. “This is a legendary moment for EMPIRE to be able to share incredible African music with the world, much of which we were fortunate enough to record at our studio here in San Francisco.” 

“Working on this album has been one of the highlights of my career,” Nigerian singer-songwriter Bnxn fka Buju said. “I feel blessed to have been around so much talent, drive, and creativity all in the same room. This album is about showcasing the best that Africa has to offer, and we’ve done that.” 

EMPIRE is known for launching the careers of Grammy award-winning rapper Anderson .Paak, Yung Bleu, Key Glock, Young Dolph, XXXTENACION, KingVon, Fireboy DML, Asake, and more. Artists across the record label’s African roster dominated the top 35 songs on Apple Music’s Nigeria Top Songs charts. It has been named the top label in Nigeria. The expanding division has seen much recent success with Asake’s Mr. Money With The Vibe becoming the highest charting debut Nigerian album of all time on the BIllboard 200 charts, Fireboy DML becoming the first Afrobeats artist to perform at the 2022 BET Awards, Kizz Daniel’s hit single “Buga” becoming the most Shazamed song in the world, KiDi going platinum in India for his single “Touch It” featuring Tyga, and Black Sheriff gaining over 75 million audio streams for “Kwaku the Traveller” in just one month.