President Trump Issues Brand New Travel Ban – What You Should Know

Donald Trump in trench coat and suit waving
(Photo Credit: Getty Images)

On Monday (Mar 6), President Donald Trump introduced another travel ban that will reject some citizens from specific muslim nations from entering the country.

Immigrants from six countries are not allowed from entering the country for at least 90 days. The countries listed are Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.

Iraq, which was originally in the first draft of the ban is no longer part of the list.

According to Secretary of State Rex Tillerson, Iraq was taken off due to their co-operation with helping terroristic actions.

“On the basis of negotiations that have taken place between the government of Iraq and the U.S. Department of State in the last month, Iraq will increase cooperation with the U.S. government on the vetting of its citizens applying for a visa to travel to the United States.”

Refugees are also banned in terms of the order. Those with green cards, diplomats, visa holders are exempt by the order, as well as those with dual citizenship, along with people with asylum or refugees status.

The order will begin in 10 days – an interesting addition to the order and as it will be implemented on March 16.