The Tristate Is Requiring Travelers From COVID-19 Hotspots To Quarantine For 14-Days 

People navigate through Miami International Airport amid coronavirus fears on March 15
(Photo by Joe Raedle/Getty Images)

As states reopen the economy, some are also putting plans in place to protect public safety.

CNBC reports travelers arriving in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut from regions with Coronavirus “infections rates will be subject to a 14-day quarantine.” For example, people coming in from states like Florida and Texas would be required to isolate. 

NY Gov. Andrew Cuomo made the announcement today at a news conference with NJ Gov. Phil Murphy and CT Gov. Ned Lamont. Cuomo said people who don’t “voluntarily quarantine for 14 days will be subject to fines and a mandatory quarantine.” Fines could be up to $2,000 for the first violation, $5,000 for the second and up to $10,000 if any harm is caused. 

Cuomo also said, 

“We worked very hard to get the viral transmission rate down. We don’t want to see it go up because a lot of people come into this region and they can literally bring the infection with them. Because what happens in New York happens in New Jersey and happens in Connecticut.”