Vince Staples Announces New Album, ‘Dark Times,’ With Tracklist

Loading the player…

Vince Staples is slippin’ into darkness. The “Magic” hitmaker announced on Sunday afternoon (May 19) that he will release a new album on May 24. 

Entitled Dark Times, this upcoming project from the Long Beach, California, native was announced by Staples himself over the weekend. In a heartfelt message shared on social media, he unveiled the cover art and shared the personal journey that inspired the music.

“Eleven years ago, a young, uncertain version of myself was given an opportunity with Def Jam Recordings,” he wrote. “I released my first project under their banner, Shyne Coldchain Vol 2, a year later. I was unsure of what to expect from the world of music but deeply aware of what I needed: a change in my surroundings and a clear understanding of self. Ten years and seven projects later, I’ve found that clarity. Now, I share with you my final Def Jam release, Dark Times. 5.24.24”

Staples shared the upcoming album’s tracklist with a snippet of a highlighted track, “Shame On The Devil.” The album will include 13 new songs. Dark Times directly follows Staples’s 2022 critically acclaimed album, Ramona Park Broke My Heart.

Vince Staples signed with Def Jam Recordings in 2013. The label released him, and in 2019, he signed a deal with Motown Records through Blacksmith. Dark Times will be released on Blacksmith/Motown Records.

Find the complete tracklist for Dark Times below:

1. “Close Your Eyes And Swing”

2. “Black & Blue”

3. “Government Cheese”

4. “Children’s Song”

5. “Shame On The Devil”

6. “Étouffée”

7. “Liars”

8. “Justin”

9. “Radio”

10. “Nothing Matters”

11. “Little Homies”

12. “Freeman”

13. “Why Won’t The Sun Come Out?”

In other news, Vince Staples has added actor and television writer to his portfolio and asked fans to “peer pressure” Netflix into purchasing more episodes of his new series, The Vince Staples Show. The first season, consisting of eight episodes, has garnered rave reviews from critics and fans.